The Case for Border Adjusted Federal Tax Reform via the Business Transfer Tax

THE CASE FOR BORDER ADJUSTED FEDERAL TAX REFORM
VIA THE BUSINESS TRANSFER TAX

by
David A. Hartman, Chairman
The Lone Star Foundation

That’s the gold standard on trade. I don’t believe Cruz’s plan is quite as good, because I don’t believe Cruz includes rebates. I could be mistaken. With such high levels of taxation, a flat tax is otherwise overly hard on the working poor. While low taxes are ideal, a large middle class is also ideal. Otherwise, voters will demand more government redistribution of wealth. Trump is wonderful in part because he protects the middle class and aims to grow the US economy. Voters must be kept happy.

Trump should consider adopting part of Hartman’s plan. I’m not saying Trump needs to adopt this exactly, but he could one-up Cruz with some part of this superior plan, superior to Cruz’s.

For those who don’t know: Chronicles generally has the best proposals. And I believe I first saw Hartman’s proposal there. Modern Age is also good.

Update: I suppose combined with a progressive income tax, as Trump would do, there’s no need for rebates.

I was just surprised to realise Cruz has the best protectionist trade policy. I already knew this was Cruz’s policy, but it hadn’t computed. I don’t trust Cruz though since Trump has longer been a trade protectionist. Cruz seemed to adopt this after noticing how popular Trump had become.

Leave a Reply

