Spite the PC Hysterics, Join a Fraternity?

The “rape culture” foolishness continues to roll right along even after the UVA gang rape article that amped it up turned out to be a total fraud.

When I went to college I didn’t join a fraternity because I was a good little Baptist kid and didn’t drink and came from a family of militant teetotalers, but if I was going to college today I would be temped to join one just to spite the PC hysterics.

I think the idea of fraternity is a useful one, but I do believe fraternities in general morally compromise their members, but I wonder if it might be possible to navigate a college career in a fraternity without being morally compromised if you went into it with a strong Christian foundation. Someone who has been in one recently will have to let me know if this is possible.

But as bastions of old school class structure and maleness, it hard not to root for them against the PC ninnies, even with their flaws.

Update: This is probably a better link to illustrate my point.

6 thoughts on “Spite the PC Hysterics, Join a Fraternity?

  1. hawthornecht

    Having been there done that, there are no Christians (who want to do a frat) there. That isn’t the end of the story of course, and we all hope they might flex some muscle yet, but no reason to think they will.

    And I liked Revenge of the Nerds and Animal House.

    Like

    Reply
  2. weavercht

    Kappa Alpha would have Christians, though not saints. I assume it hasn’t vanished yet.

    KA was the only frat I considered, but I decided I hated college early on (homesick I guess) and just never ended up rushing. They were always incredibly friendly to me.

    Some campuses accuse theirs of being stuck-up, but they have legitimate Christians in the frat. They follow R E Lee. I expect KA is the only frat worth preserving. Because the South is dying, I expect KA is also dying. I never thought much of the other frats.

    Just to be clear though, all frats party a lot. They drink, have sex; it’s very hedonistic. KA offered a bit more though. They were part frat, part ethnic group, part rich kid, part Christian.

    The Christian groups never impressed me. The boys in them often seemed like wolves. I doubted how much faith most of them had. I like people who just attend a respectable church, don’t wear their faith on their sleeve. In time, everyone gets a little religious that way I think. I’m not saying Christian clubs are bad, but the ones I’ve seen didn’t impress me. There’s just something wrong with them.

    The problem might be the American white’s lack of ethnicity. The groups I saw were white, but I expect now they’re quite mixed. I just expect that with ethnicity, you’d get better traditions, better protections, more common sense. American whites just have a sickness, in my experience. If ethnicity could be recombined with faith once again, I’d like to believe we’d be cured.

    Like

    Reply
  3. weavercht

    They were after the girls.

    My roommate was a monster. *removed an unnecessary explanation*

    I guess he’s just one guy, but I’ve gotten a similar sense from the groups that lack an established church behind them. I am not a fan of the evangelical groups that lack some tradition behind them.

    The church I grew up at produced good men I thought. I wasn’t in the churchgroup, but I knew the guys in it. I guess I played tennis instead. I went to an established church though.

    Addition:

    I do not like the “cool” Christian groups that attempt to add Christ to modern culture. I would respect them more if they combed their hair, shaved off the goatee, etc. And I would prefer Christians had more identity than merely being Christian.

    Like

    Reply
  4. weavercht

    I don’t mean to offend. Anything Chuck Baldwin touches I expect to be golden.

    And I expect anything you’re involved with to be good. Maybe I’m just mistaken and shouldn’t speak so freely. I’m thinking of the college Christian groups specifically though, btw. They just seemed off when I was in school.

    When I was in school though I was a “theist”. I was certain there was a god, but I wasn’t certain about much else. I had great difficulty accepting evolution etc. though. Anyway, my point is I wasn’t amoral, but I didn’t spend a great deal of time with the Christian groups. And yes, “theism” made me morally misguided. I’ll stop the rant about myself here.

    I did not put much thought behind my recent posts. I was just writing stream of consciousness from my past memories.

    Like

    Reply
  5. weavercht

    I’ve long thought highly of The Citadel (in Charleston, SC) for what it’s worth. It used to produce Christian gentlemen. I imagine it produces monsters today.

    I love the idea of CS Lewis clubs.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

